masai_200731_258.jpg

Welcome to the association
"Massai Art & Heart"

Shop for Good

The Maasai are originally a nomadic pastoral people in East Africa. Our association members have a big heart for the Maasai people and their outstanding, world-famous handicrafts. In the association, we put our heart and soul into the sale of Masai handicrafts in Switzerland. Our «Massai Art & Heart» -productions are made by women and are stylish, authentic and give the wearer a lot of pleasure.

With the purchase of Maasai products you support Maasai small producers on site and enable them a fair, regular income. With the sales proceeds and your donation, the association also supports meaningful educational projects in Kenya, which help to improve the living conditions of the ethnic minority of the Maasai.

massaiart.jpg

Our products

Maasai jewelry for a good cause

A minority is fighting for their territory

Who are the Maasai anyway? The term Masai stands for the "people who speak the Maa language". Today, the majority of the population lives in Kenya and partly in northern Tanzania. According to the last Kenyan census, around 1.2 million Maasai live in Kenya. In neighboring Tanzania, according to the “ Minority Rights” website, there were around 430,000 people. Nomadic shepherd peoples like the Maasai have been roaming Kenya for centuries. But since the British colonization in the 20th century, their land use rights have been severely restricted. The Maasai are still restricted in their freedom of movement through land sales, which continue to this day.

 

Supporting the Maasai is very simple

Since many Maasai can neither read nor write, they are often unable to represent their interests. Our association advocates the right to self-determination and education of this minority and wants to make the handicrafts of the Maasai and their culture better known in Switzerland. You can read more about the culture and way of life as well as the problems of the Maasais here .

 

Support our association with a membership , donation or by buying Masai handicrafts in the shop and strengthen Maasai women and promote the education of Maasai childern in Kenya.

masai_200731_544_edited.jpg

Questions about the club or shop? Contact us

Association "Massai Art & Heart"
c / o Marleen De Heyn Huber

Bahnhofstrasse 10a
CH-5722 Graenichen

Tel .: 0041 62 843 08 08

Mobile: 0041 79 509 01 92

Email: info@massaiartandheart.ch

Association and donation account: CH79 0900 0000 1549 0927 6

Thanks for submitting!

news

Bienvenue à l'association "Massai Art&Heart"

Shop for Good

Les Massaïs sont à l'origine un peuple de pasteurs nomades d'Afrique de l'Est. Les membres de notre association ont un grand cœur pour le peuple Massaï et son artisanat exceptionnel et de renommée mondiale. Au sein de l'association, nous mettons tout notre cœur à promouvoir la vente de l'artisanat maasaï en Suisse. Nos produits "Massai Art&Heart" sont fabriqués par des femmes et sont élégants, authentiques et apportent beaucoup de joie à ceux qui les portent.

 

En achetant des produits Massai, vous soutenez les petits producteurs Massai locaux et leur permettez de gagner un revenu équitable et régulier. L'association soutient également des projets éducatifs significatifs au Kenya grâce aux recettes des ventes et à votre don, qui contribuent à améliorer les conditions de vie de la minorité ethnique des Massaïs.

massaiart.jpg
 

Des bijoux Massaï pour une bonne cause

Une minorité se bat pour son territoire

Qui sont les Massaï ? Le terme Massaï désigne le "peuple qui parle la langue Maa". Aujourd'hui, la majorité d'entre eux vivent au Kenya et en partie aussi dans le nord de la Tanzanie. Selon le dernier recensement kenyan, environ 1,2 million de Massaïs vivent au Kenya. Dans la Tanzanie voisine, il y en avait environ 430 000, selon le site web "Minority Rights". Les peuples pastoraux nomades comme les Massaïs ont parcouru le Kenya pendant des siècles. Mais depuis la colonisation par les Britanniques au 20e siècle, leurs droits d'utilisation des terres ont été sévèrement restreints. Les ventes de terres qui se poursuivent encore aujourd'hui limitent encore la liberté de mouvement des Massaïs.

 

Soutenir les Massaïs est très simple

Comme de nombreux Massaïs ne savent ni lire ni écrire, ils sont souvent incapables de défendre leurs intérêts. Notre association soutient le droit à l'autodétermination et à l'éducation de cette minorité et souhaite faire mieux connaître l'artisanat des Massaïs ainsi que leur culture en Suisse. Pour en savoir plus sur la culture et le mode de vie ainsi que sur les problèmes des Massaïs, cliquez ici.  

 

Soutenez notre association par une adhésion, un don ou par l'achat d'objets d'artisanat massaïdans le magasin et renforcez les femmes massaï au Kenya.

masai_200731_544_edited.jpg

Des questions sur l'association ou

le shop ?

Contactez-nous

Association "Massai Art&Heart
c/o Marleen De Heyn Huber

Bahnhofstrasse 10a
CH-5722 Gränichen

téléphone : 0041 62 843 08 08

mobile : 0041 79 509 01 92

Courrier électronique : info@massaiartandheart.ch

Association et compte de dons : CH79 0900 0000 1549 0927 6

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

©2020 Massai Art&Heart. Erstellt mit Wix.com